Chapter Two: Shady NOW LIVE

header-w-text

Chapter Two: Shady


A flash of light pierced the darkness. Another did the same a screen-shot-2016-12-16-at-10-47-45-pmfew moments later. Than another and another.

“Do you think he’ll survive?” Who said that?

“Hm,” a light touch over my cheek tickled, “I certainly hope so.”

No, don’t touch me…

“He is a prize.” The first one said, “and just lying around at that.”

The second chuckled, it was a soft, smooth sound. “Awn.” Pain, slithering pain pricked my body with blunt needles. Another touch to my cheek sent me flinching away. “No.”

“Shhh.” The second soothed.

Light illuminated the car from the outside. Wait, car? When did I get into a car? No, not a car, a limo.

“Rest.” One of them, I wasn’t sure which one, said.

A man with lighter hair was holding me in his arms. The other, darker haired one, sat looking me over as if I were a delicious snack he couldn’t wait to devour. His eyes a blue so dark they seemed to glow narrowed and one corner of his mouth went up in a smirk revealing a fang.

A fang?

I really was losing it. Maybe getting some rest wasn’t such a bad idea? Or maybe it was the worst idea. Either way I didn’t have a say in the matter. Everything was heavy, all too heavy with an overall sense of numbness.

The arms wrapped around me tightened. “Shhh.” A voice soothed again. Fingers combed through my hair and a shiver of pain, past pains from visits with Jerry, tickled my scalp.

“Nn,” my arms weighed down with exhaustion wouldn’t move, my fingers barely twitched, “d-don’t touch… me.”

Soft chuckles from both chased me into the darkness.

It was soft. Just so soft… I curled into it with a sigh. Warmth I hadn’t felt in years eased the tension I’d unwillingly held onto. Everything was just so fuzzy, so comfy, so warm like a content cat basking in the sunlight.

A deep breath brought the scents of lavender and lemon but also pain…

Pain.

The beating. Jerry. Running…

“No!” The fuzzy, comfortable fog left in a torrent of panic. My stomach twisted with it. The room faded into focus. It was dark, masculine with heavy woods and deep colors. The bed was large, plush with blankets and pillows. One of those blankets pooled at my waist to reveal my naked torso.

Bruises marked my pale skin. Bite marks, some healing and others fresh, from Jerry peppered my body.

My chest was tight, couldn’t get enough air; needed to breathe…

“Shhh,” a voice soothed, “you mustn’t harm yourself further.”

“Absolutely not,” a second agreed, “that just wouldn’t do, not in the least.” A man emerged from the deep shadows within the room. Even in the darkness his eyes nearly glowed as they raked over my bare skin. He was tall, taller than my own five foot five, with at least five inches on me in height. His hair was black, styled in an undercut. His smirk wasn’t lost to me either.

A deep chuckle came from the depths of the shadows. “Easy JJ, don’t scare the poor boy. That just wouldn’t do.” He emerged to approach the one he called JJ. This one was a two toned blond, also styled in an undercut. He was taller than the first by at least two inches. Both were slender.

JJ smirked and his gaze flicked to the other in some sort of knowing glance with a chuckle. The blond reached out, snaking an arm around JJ’s waist pulling the shorter man to him. A light kiss landed against JJ’s neck.

My insides twisted, my chest seized, panic began to rise. No… A whine escaped me, I couldn’t have stopped if I wanted to as I scooted back. “Ahn…” Stars danced over my vision, temporarily blotting out the two men from my head lightly smacking the headboard. A shot of pain raced to my temple to settle behind my eye.


Click here for the rest of the chapter.
Leave a Reply

